One of the main reasons for the immense popularity of Smartphones is the fact that they can be personalized as desired. They allow you to adjust every little parameter, thus making the interface much more singular and ergonomic. Preinstalled applications, system applications, factory applications, bloatware… One thing is certain, this little electronic gadget that we have in our hands is a real concentrate of technology and information. The problem is that we tend to overload it too much and it quickly ends up becoming less efficient. Not to mention that the memory is always full and it is often difficult to take even a small video. To declutter it and gain a little more space, deleting certain applications would not be a luxury. But beware, this gesture is not as innocuous as one might think. Some tracks.

If there’s one thing most of us agree on, it’s that there are multiple apps in the Smartphone which are not really essential and which take up a lot of space unnecessarily. Therefore, the first thing to do is to try uninstalling or disabling them. But, be careful, not just anyhow. There is a process to follow to avoid certain inconveniences.

Deleting an app is not as easy as it looks!

Deleting an app from phone

Deleting an application on the phone – Source: spm

It’s always a good idea to delete an app that’s taking up valuable space on your cell phone, especially ones that might be spying on you. But sometimes it’s not just a matter of hitting the delete button. This action alone won’t be enough to fix things entirely: even if you think you’re rid of it, remnants of this app may still be lurking somewhere, leaving your device vulnerable and causing other problems.

You thought that once the app was deleted, your relationship with the developer in question was severed? Nice mistake. Realize that the terms and conditions you casually agreed to cannot just so easily vanish into thin air. In most cases, by downloading any app, you are giving the company permission to use your information in any way they see fit, within the interpretation of applicable laws.

Luckily, there’s a way to make sure the app is completely gone and your personal information is safe.

Why deleting an application can be confusing?

Turns out your data doesn’t magically disappear when you delete an app. Namely that the latter is most often part of a network large number of interconnected tools, products and sites that reset and share your information, without you even realizing it. Usually, these are linked via your Facebook account which precisely allows the application to access your photos, lists of friends and other information about you available on the social network. This assumes that the app developer, with your permission, has access to everything available through your Facebook profile.

In this sense, an expert rightly warns users not to be naive and believe that their private information will be totally protected. Keep in mind that most of the applications you download are extremely insecure: because the developers do not follow security best practices. Remember, apps are designed for functionality and convenience, but also for fun and entertainment, but certainly not for user safety. Indeed, if developers had to take a number of precautions, it would take them too much time and more resources, often delaying product launches and revenue-generating activities.

What’s the best way to completely remove an app?

Use your phone 2

Using your phone – Source: spm

There are several steps to ensure an app is completely disconnected from your cell phone or other devices. James E. Lee, an expert on the subject, recommends following these steps before deleting an app:

  • First, delete all information from the app. While the data deletion instructions are different for each app, you can usually find an option to delete saved data under menu names like “privacy,” “account settings,” or “security,” Lee says. From there, follow the arrows to retrieve account information or saved history in the app.
  • If possible, you should also log in to your account via a web browser. Sometimes you’ll find more additional settings available through the desktop version than the app itself. Indeed, mobile applications are often simplified versions of a complete application. ” It is therefore a good idea to connect to the application via a browser website to make sure you haven’t forgotten any additional settings that might not be available in mobile versions of an app. “, confirms the expert.
  • It’s also important to unlink or revoke any Facebook or Google integrations you may have linked by going to app settings: check for the linked accounts option by removing the app or link you want to remove. You can also remove integrations through the linked account instead. Simply sign in to the linked account, check your settings to see which apps it shares data with, then delete the ones you no longer use. The expert suggests going to the linked account for specific instructions and using their contact form or chat feature if you have a question.

Good to know : If you can’t find information about completely erasing your data in an app, the expert recommends contacting the customer service team of the app in question and requesting in writing that your data be completely erased.

Read also These applications present a real danger. Delete them immediately from your smartphone